Stacking The Shelves: Week 51

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, whether they be physical or digital. This includes physical books bought, digital books downloaded, and those titles received for review.

Review Titles

A handful of review titles for the holidays, courtesy of William Morrow, Titan Books, and Circlet Press.


by Maya Deane

Drawing on ancient texts and modern archeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world, perfect for fans of Song of Achilles and the Inheritance trilogy.

The gods wanted blood. She fought for love.

Achilles has fled her home and her vicious Myrmidon clan to live as a woman with the kallai, the transgender priestesses of Great Mother Aphrodite. When Odysseus comes to recruit the “prince” Achilles for a war against the Hittites, she prepares to die rather than fight as a man. However, her divine mother, Athena, intervenes, transforming her body into the woman’s body she always longed for, and promises her everything: glory, power, fame, victory in war, and, most importantly, a child born of her own body. Reunited with her beloved cousin, Patroklos, and his brilliant wife, the sorceress Meryapi, Achilles sets out to war with a vengeance. 

But the gods—a dysfunctional family of abusive immortals that have glutted on human sacrifices for centuries—have woven ancient schemes more blood-soaked and nightmarish than Achilles can imagine. At the center of it all is the cruel, immortal Helen, who sees Achilles as a worthy enemy after millennia of ennui and emptiness. In love with her newfound nemesis, Helen sets out to destroy everything and everyone Achilles cherishes, seeking a battle to the death. 

An innovative spin on a familiar tale, this is the Trojan War unlike anything ever told, and an Achilles whose vulnerability is revealed by the people she chooses to fight…and chooses to trust.

Pub Date 07 Jun 2022
William Morrow


by Josh Winning

A thrilling race against the clock to save the world from fantasy creatures from a cult 80s film. Perfect for fans of Henson Company puppet classics like Labyrinth, Dark Crystal and The Never-Ending Story.

Jack Corman is failing at life.
 
Jobless, jaded and on the “wrong” side of thirty, he’s facing the threat of eviction from his London flat while reeling from the sudden death of his father, one-time film director Bob Corman. Back in the eighties, Bob poured his heart and soul into the creation of his 1986 puppet fantasy The Shadow Glass, a film Jack loved as a child, idolising its fox-like hero Dune.
 
But The Shadow Glass flopped on release, deemed too scary for kids and too weird for adults, and Bob became a laughing stock, losing himself to booze and self-pity. Now, the film represents everything Jack hated about his father, and he lives with the fear that he’ll end up a failure just like him.
 
In the wake of Bob’s death, Jack returns to his decaying home, a place creaking with movie memorabilia and painful memories. Then, during a freak thunderstorm, the puppets in the attic start talking. Tipped into a desperate real-world quest to save London from the more nefarious of his father’s creations, Jack teams up with excitable fanboy Toby and spiky studio executive Amelia to navigate the labyrinth of his father’s legacy while conjuring the hero within––and igniting a Shadow Glass resurgence that could, finally, do his father proud.

Pub Date 22 Mar 2022
Titan Books


by Hûw Steer

In the endless jungles of Tyria, the Blackbird flies again.

Tal Wenlock and Max Odyn make a formidable team. The thief and the scholar have already unearthed one ancient scroll, filled with priceless knowledge and forgotten magic - and with it cured Tal's sister of her crippling illness.

But four more scrolls still lurk in long-forgotten tombs - and Tal and Max are determined to find them. Unfortunately, so is everyone else. Tal and Max will have to race the world's finest treasure-hunters across the deadly Boiling Seas, from the depths of the earth to the heights of the sky, if they want to win the glory - and the gold.

Thankfully, this time Tal and Max have help. Because Lily Wenlock is back on her feet - and she's not about to let her little brother have all the fun.

The jungle islands of Tyria hold secrets unimaginable - all the Blackbird and his friends have to do is find them first.

Pub Date 19 Dec 2021


by Nobilis Reed

"If you're the sort of person who thinks a tentacle monster having its way with you sounds... kinda fun, actually?... then you're going to love the adventures of Ensign Sandra Tevins. Tentacles, eyestalks, and ovipositors, oh my. This is sexy, pulpy fun."
—Cecilia Tan, award-winning author of Slow Surrender

The Tentacle Monsters have always been sentient, but now they can talk in a way humans can understand.

Ensign Sandra Tevins of the Star Patrol has signed up to train for the job of harnessing their incredible power to bend space/time to their will. She is learning to handle them--and be handled by them, as monsters have a particular hunger for human sexual submission. Sandra is not new to dominance and submission, having a long-standing D/s relationship in her kinky poly family, but the demands of her training go beyond anything she has experienced before.

But all is not well in the Star Patrol. There is a conspiracy afoot to cause the tentacle monster program to fail, and if it does, war will engulf the galaxy.

After her classmates are eliminated one by one, Sandra is the only one who can prevent it. Assisted by a tentacle monster named Kernunnos and Paul Garnet, agent of the I.A.I.A, Sandra takes on this conspiracy with every tool at her disposal.

Pub Date 16 Nov 2021
Riverdale Avenue Books, Circlet


New Acquisitions: Paperback Treasures

Nothing new on the physical front this week...


New Acquisitions: Digital Titles

Nothing new on the digital front this week either...

Comments

  1. Love the covers on the first two! Hope you enjoy these!
    Lisa Loves Literature

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wrath Goddess sounds really cool! I love books inspired by mythology.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment