Guest Post: Back to the Beginning by Gail Z. Martin

Back to the Beginning

by Gail Z. Martin

In February of 2022, it will be 15 years since The Summoner came out—the first book in my Chronicles of the Necromancer series.

That book was 20 years in the making, and seeing it on bookshelves was a dream come true. I got a thrill from seeing my book on a bookstore shelf that has never gone away despite all the years and 40+ books since then. The Summoner was the book that started it all.

The publishing industry was different when The Summoner came out, and the print publisher did not automatically take ebook rights back then. The ebook rights went to a different company, and last year the owner of that press retired. He gave us the choice to getting our rights to our ebooks back or going forward with the new owner. We asked for our rights back to the first four Chronicles books. 

In the process of freshening up the formatting, we also cleaned up some copyedit typos that made it past the original scrutiny. That meant the process took a bit longer than we expected. 

I’m very happy to announce that The Summoner and The Blood King have been re-released on ebook (on multiple platforms) and we plan to have Dark Haven and Dark Lady’s Chosen out soon.

Having just re-read the books, I’m very pleased with the stories, and revisiting them was like meeting up with old friends. Those books and characters will always hold a special place in my heart because they were the first.

I’m also very excited about returning to the world of the Winter Kingdoms in the upcoming Legacy of the Necromancer series, which starts 17 years after the end of The Dread. I’m hoping to get that underway next year, and I’ve commissioned original artwork from the same artist who did the first three original Chronicles covers, the amazing Michael Komarck. 

I’ve revisited the world twice before, in the prequels focused on Jonmarc Vahanian—The Shadowed Path and The Dark Road. The new series will still star Tris, Jonmarc, Kiara, Carina and all the others from the original series, along with new characters. After all, no good deed goes unpunished and now that they’ve had time to recover from saving the kingdom, the repercussions will gradually make themselves known for a whole new level of threat!

About the author

Gail Z. Martin writes urban fantasy, epic fantasy, steampunk and more for Solaris Books, Orbit Books, Falstaff Books, SOL Publishing and Darkwind Press. Urban fantasy series include Deadly Curiosities and the Night Vigil (Sons of Darkness). Epic fantasy series include Darkhurst, the Chronicles Of The Necromancer, the Fallen Kings Cycle, the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, and the Assassins of Landria

Together with Larry N. Martin, she is the co-author of Iron & Blood, Storm & Fury (both Steampunk/alternate history), the Spells Salt and Steel comedic horror series, the Joe Mack Shadow Council series, and the Wasteland Marshals near-future post-apocalyptic series. As Morgan Brice, she writes urban fantasy MM paranormal romance, with the Witchbane, Badlands, Treasure Trail, Kings of the Mountain and Fox Hollow series. Gail is also a con-runner for ConTinual, the online, ongoing multi-genre convention that never ends.

Find her at, on Twitter @GailZMartin, on, at blog and on Goodreads. Never miss out on the news and new releases—newsletter signup link 

Follow her Amazon author page here, on Bookbub, on Instagram, and on Pinterest.

Join our Facebook group, the Shadow Alliance, Gail’s Supernatural Group is Supernatural TFW-NC, and come check out ConTinual

And get a free complete short story, Catspaw, here:


You can check out my reviews of Scourge (Darkhurst), The Shadowed Path (Chronicles Of The Necromancer), Iron & Blood (Iron & Blood), and Deadly Curiosities (Deadly Curiosities) for an introduction to some of Gail's worlds, or you can wait for the books that started it all, as I've dusted off my paperback originals and am catching up with Tris, Jonmarc, Kiara, and Carina this summer.