Quantcast

Pages

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Waiting On Wednesday - Kaiju Rising edited by Tim Marquitz and Nick Sharps

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters edited by Tim Marquitz and Nick Sharps
Ragnarok Publications  (February 10, 2014)

Giant monsters and tremendous havoc brought to you by master authors Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Peter Clines, and many, many more!

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. 

The anthology opens with a foreword by New York Times bestselling author JONATHAN MABERRY, and closes with an afterword by JEREMY ROBINSON, author of Project Nemesis, the highest selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books—and perhaps even more than those. 

From New York Times bestsellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger than life stories.


I missed out on the hugely successful kickstarter for this, so I'll have to wait for the retail edition like everybody else, but this looks like a ton of fun. The cast of contributors is pretty impressive but, so long as we're talking giant monsters, I'm just as excited to discover some new authors and to revisit some favourites.

8 comments:

  1. This does look fun! It also looks like it's right there with the stuff you love. Hope you enjoy!!!
    P.S. - I just noticed I am waiting on the book you posted last week! Great minds...
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  2. I backed this and so I got the ebooks last month, but I think I might just wait until the physical copies are available to read it too. Just look at that amazing and fun cover, I want to hold it in my hands as I enjoy it.

    My WoW: http://bibliosanctum.blogspot.com/2014/02/waiting-on-wednesday-020514.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ok, I'm just a little bit envious. :)

      Delete
    2. I just can't do short story collections in ebook form - at least not with my current Kindle- I need better ease of transition if I get one I don't like.

      Delete
    3. I'm ok with short stories on my Kobo, Nathan, but I do prefer to read them in paperback/hardcover. I find I tend to skip around a lot, and like to refer back to the introductions, or read ahead to the bios, between stories. Definitely easier when there are real pages to flip.

      Delete
  3. Wow! That sounds like an exciting read! Hope you enjoy it!
    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh, this sounds pretty awesome! Giant monsters? Yes, please. Great pick! =)

    ReplyDelete
  5. The cover is awesome, I have never heard of this book before! Thanks for sharing, new GFC follower :)

    ReplyDelete