Quantcast

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Mailboxes, Shelves, and What I'm Reading

Stacking The Shelves and Mailbox Monday are a pair of weekly memes that are about sharing the books that came your way over the past week, and which you've added to your shelves - whether they be physical or virtual, borrowed or bought, or for pleasure or review.

For starters, this week saw the arrival of my highly-anticipated package of Iron Wolves swag, courtesy of Andy Remic.


As for the ever-expanding bookshelves, new additions coming in the door this week included:

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters edited by Tim Marquitz & Nickolas Sharps
Published January 31st 2014 by Ragnarok Publications

Giant monsters and tremendous havoc brought to you by master authors Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Peter Clines, and many, many more!

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more.

The anthology opens with a foreword by JEREMY ROBINSON, author of Project Nemesis, the highest selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books—and perhaps even more than those.

From New York Times bestsellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger than life stories.


City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
Expected publication: September 9th 2014 by Broadway Books

An atmospheric and intrigue-filled novel of dead gods, buried histories, and a mysterious, protean city—from one of America’s most acclaimed young SF writers.

The city of Bulikov once wielded the powers of the gods to conquer the world, enslaving and brutalizing millions—until its divine protectors were killed. Now Bulikov has become just another colonial outpost of the world’s new geopolitical power, but the surreal landscape of the city itself—first shaped, now shattered, by the thousands of miracles its guardians once worked upon it—stands as a constant, haunting reminder of its former supremacy.

Into this broken city steps Shara Thivani. Officially, the unassuming young woman is just another junior diplomat sent by Bulikov’s oppressors. Unofficially, she is one of her country’s most accomplished spies, dispatched to catch a murderer. But as Shara pursues the killer, she starts to suspect that the beings who ruled this terrible place may not be as dead as they seem—and that Bulikov’s cruel reign may not yet be over.


Grunt Life by Weston Ochse
Expected publication: April 30th 2014 by Solaris

This is a brand new Military SF series from Weston Ochse, an experienced military man and author.

Benjamin Carter Mason died last night. Maybe he threw himself off a bridge into Los Angeles Harbor, or maybe he burned to death in a house fire in San Pedro; it doesn’t really matter. Today, Mason’s starting a new life. He’s back in boot camp, training for the only war left that matters a damn.

For years, their spies have been coming to Earth, mapping our cities, learning our weaknesses, leaving tragedy in their wake. Our governments knew, but they did nothing—the prospect was too awful, the costs too high—and now, the horrifying and utterly inhuman Cray are invading, laying waste to our cities. The human race is a heartbeat away from extinction.

That is, unless Mason, and the other men and women of Task Force OMBRA, can do anything about it.

This is a time for heroes. For killers. For Grunts.

A brand new military SF series takes a footsoldier’s-eye-view of the battle with an alien infestation. In the vein of 'Aliens' on Earth, Grunt Life sees a serving US military man bring a dose of reality to the threat from the void.

αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is another weekly meme, this time focused on what books are spending the most time in your hands and in your head, as opposed to what's been added to your shelf.

With an eye towards my scheduled reviews for the next few weeks, I'm currently turning pages with:

Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard
This one came advertised as Princess Bride meets Game of Thrones. Again, good enough for me!

Nightcrawlers by Tim Curran
A village that burned to the ground 200 years ago, and a bloodthirsty evil that has bred underground for generations.

Warriors by Ted Bell
A kidnapped American scientist, the threat of all-out nuclear war, and ancient Chinese torture.

What's topping your shelves this week?

20 comments:

  1. Nice haul this week. I am also eager awaiting my package from Andy Remic. Shirt and swag look awesome!

    ~Mogsy

    ReplyDelete
  2. Now I am trying to remember what other series I have read that has an alien race called 'the cray.'

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't heard of these before but I hope you like all of them. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh nice! These are new to me but awesome swag! I love bookish t-shirts! Especially ones that promote a book! Usually because the people I hang out with are clueless as to what books/authors I read. Read so many as it is!

    Hope you enjoy all your new reads and swag!

    My STS will be up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by then!

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. MOTH AND SPARK could be potentially good :) And love the Tshirt you got :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great group of book. Enjoy your reading and thanks for visiting this week.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have got to hurry up and get to read Iron Wolves! I have a print ARC, even, and I'm just terribly behind. If I could just once get ahead of it, I'd be fine, but... *dies*

    Kaiju Rising has been tempting me, too...

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Iron Wolves swag is just awesome!
    Need to pick up that first book. A bit hooked on Kaiju now.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read any of these but happy reading!

    Tsuki’s STS

    ReplyDelete
  10. Nice swag! I don't know these books at all but I hope you enjoy them :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. These are new to me but the look great.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Moth and Spark looks intriguing...hope you enjoy them all. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Man, you got some great looking reads. I am curious to see your thoughts on Moth and Sparks and Nightcrawlers so I am now following you on bloglovin! Enjoy your reads!

    Stormi
    http://www.booksmoviesreviewsohmy.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-73/

    ReplyDelete
  14. Cool swag! Is that a real weapon, or is it a picture on the t-shirt? It looks real! Yep, I've heard great things about Moth & Spark. I may have to give it a read too.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Never heard of these but i hope you enjoy them!

    This is what we are reading this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

    ReplyDelete
  16. ENJOY!! I don't know these titles.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    ReplyDelete
  17. The swag is neat! Enjoy your books!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Sweet swag! Kaiju Rising is one I will have to look into. Happy Reading!
    Here are my newest additions .

    ReplyDelete