I Can't Wait for... The Discord of Gods by Jenn Lyons

Fantasy Books Coming Soon!

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about and have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released, but not necessarily. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, which was originally hosted at Breaking the Spine. 

My pick for this week is the highly anticipated finale to a 5-book saga that has amazed me, wowed me, surprised me, and delighted me at every turn with a diversity of characters and depth of storytelling ...


Title:
 The Discord of Gods
Author: Jenn Lyons
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: August 26, 2022
Genres: Epic Fantasy

The Discord of Gods marks the epic conclusion to Jenn Lyons's Chorus of Dragon series, closing out the saga that began with The Ruin of Kings, for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss.

The end times have come.

Relos Var's final plans to enslave the universe are on the cusp of fruition. He believes there's only one being in existence that might be able to stop him: the demon Xaltorath.

As these two masterminds circle each other, neither is paying attention to the third player on the board, Kihrin. Unfortunately, keeping himself classified in the "pawn" category means Kihrin must pretend to be everything the prophecies threatened he'd become: the destroyer of all, the sun eater, a mindless, remorseless plague upon the land. It also means finding an excuse to not destroy the people he loves (or any of the remaining Immortals) without arousing suspicion.

Kihrin's goals are complicated by the fact that not all of his "act" is one. His intentions may be sincere, but he's still being forced to grapple with the aftereffects of the corrupted magic ritual that twisted both him and the dragons. Worse, he's now tied to a body that is the literal avatar of a star - a form that is becoming increasingly, catastrophically unstable. All of which means he's running out of time.

After all, some stars fade - but others explode. 

Comments

  1. I don't think this book would be for me, but the cover is certainly eye catching!

    Here is my link:
    https://twogirlsandtheirbookishlife.blogspot.com/2021/08/cant-wait-wednesdays-summer-sons-by-lee.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. I wish I had started this series already! Not sure I'll ever catch up, but I hope you love the finale😁

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment