I Can't Wait for... Upcoming Canadian Fiction

Canadian Books Coming Soon!


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about and have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released, but not necessarily. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, which was originally hosted at Breaking the Spine. 

With Canada Day coming tomorrow, I wanted to take this week's post to highlight some upcoming releases from favorite Canadian authors that draping my bookshelves in red and white . . . eh?


Title:
 The God Is Not Willing
Author: Steven Erikson
Publisher: Transworld
Publication Date: Sept 21, 2021
Genres: Epic Fantasy

Many years have passed since three Teblor warriors brought carnage and chaos to Silver Lake.

Now the tribes of the north no longer venture into the southlands. The town has recovered and yet the legacy remains. Indeed, one of the three, Karsa Orlong, is now revered as a god, albeit an indifferent one. In truth, many new religions have emerged and been embraced across the Malazan world. There are those who worship Coltaine, the Black-Winged Lord, and the cult of Iskar Jarak, Guardian of the Dead, is popular among the Empire''s soldiery.

Responding to reports of a growing unease among the tribes beyond the border, a legion of Malazan marines marches towards Silver Lake. They aren''t quite sure what they''re going to be facing, but, while the Malazan military has evolved and these are not the marines of old, one thing hasn''t changed: they''ll handle whatever comes at them. Or die trying.

And in those high mountains, a new warleader has risen amongst the Teblor. Scarred by the deeds of Karsa Orlong, he intends to confront his god even if he has to cut a bloody swathe through the Malazan Empire to do so.

But further north, a new threat has emerged and now it seems it is the Teblor who are running out of time. Another long-feared migration is about to begin and this time it won''t just be three warriors. No, this time tens of thousands are poised to pour into the lands to the south. And in their way, a single company of Malazan marines . . .

It seems the past is about to revisit Silver Lake, and that is never a good thing . . .


Title: A Dream of a Woman
Author:
 Casey Plett
Publisher: Arsenal Pulp Press
Publication Date: Sept 21, 2021
Genres: Fiction

Award-winning novelist Casey Plett (Little Fish) returns with a poignant suite of stories that center transgender women.

Casey Plett''s 2018 novel Little Fish won a Lambda Literary Award, the Firecracker Award for Fiction, and the Amazon First Novel Award. Her latest work, A Dream of a Woman, is her first book of short stories since her seminal 2014 collection A Safe Girl to Love. Centering transgender women seeking stable, adult lives, A Dream of a Woman finds quiet truths in prairie high-rises and New York warehouses, in freezing Canadian winters and drizzly Oregon days.

In "Hazel and Christopher," two childhood friends reconnect as adults after one of them has transitioned. In "Perfect Places," a woman grapples with undesirability as she navigates fetish play with a man. In "Couldn''t Hear You Talk Anymore," the narrator reflects on her tumultuous life and what might have been as she recalls tender moments with another trans woman.

An ethereal meditation on partnership, sex, addiction, romance, groundedness, and love, the stories in A Dream of a Woman buzz with quiet intensity and the intimate complexities of being human.


Title:
 Temple of No God
Author: H.M. Long
Publisher: Titan
Publication Date: Jan 18, 2022
Genres: Epic Fantasy

Epic fantasy followup to HALL OF SMOKE, featuring crumbling empires, secretive cults and godlike powers to be claimed, for readers of Margaret Owen, Brian Staveley, V. E. Schwab and Melissa Caruso.

After a brutal war between the gods, Hessa - High Priestess of the Eangen - has brokered a fragile peace. Through great sacrifice, she has forged an alliance between warring tribes and introduced her people to the true god.

But a new threat is growing across the southern border. In the remnants of the once-great Arpa Empire, three factions are vying for the imperial throne, and the vast well of raw magical power only accessible to the Arpa Emperor. Already beating back former Arpa legionaries at her borders, Hessa knows she cannot let this chance slip by. She must intervene, for the safety of her people.

With the peace she has sacrificed so much for at stake, Hessa must venture into the heart of enemy territory, where warring Arpa factions are not the only danger she must face. A sinister new cult is on the rise, one with the power to suck the life from everything it touches. With enemies on every side and her fragile alliance beginning to waver, Hessa must decide who to trust - no matter what it may cost her...


Title:
 Play of Shadows
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Publisher: Mobius
Publication Date: Mar 10, 2022
Genres: Epic Fantasy

Swordplay, magic, intrigue and friendships stronger than iron: the first book in a new swashbuckling fantasy series by the bestselling author of The Greatcoats.

Damelas Shademantaigne picked a poor night to flee a judicial duel.

He has precious little hope of escaping the wrath of Vixen, the most feared duelist in the entire city, until he stumbles through the stage doors of the magnificent Operato Belleza and tricks his way into the company of actors. An archaic law provides temporary respite from his troubles--until one night a ghostly voice in his head causes Damelas to fumble his lines, inadvertently blurting out the dreadful truth: the city's most legendary hero may actually be a traitor and a brutal murderer.

With only the help of his boisterous and lusty friend Bereto, a beautiful assassin whose target may well be Damelas himself, and a company of misfit actor who'd just as soon see him dead, this failed son of two Greatcoats must somehow find the courage within himself to dig up long-buried truths before a ruthless band of bravos known as the Iron Orchids comes for his head.

Oh, and there's the that matter of the Vixen waiting to duel him...


Title:
 All the Seas of the World
Author: Guy Gavriel Kay
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: May 17, 2022
Genres: Epic Fantasy

On a dark night, along a lonely stretch of coast, a small merchant ship sends two people ashore to a stony strand. Their purpose is assassination. They have been hired by two of the most dangerous men alive. The consequences of what follows will affect lives both great and small, and possibly alter the balance of power in the world.

One of those arriving on that night strand is a woman abducted by corsairs from her home as a child. Escaping that life, that destiny, years after, she is trying to chart her own course - and is bent upon revenge. A third figure on the ship that night is a man who still remembers being exiled as a child with his family from their home, for their faith. A moment that never leaves him. He will bring the other two out from the city, if they can somehow do what they are headed there to do, and live.

All the Seas of the World forms a thematic centrepiece to international bestseller Guy Gavriel Kay's two most recent novels, A Brightness Long Ago and Children of Earth and Sky. Returning triumphantly to his near-Renaissance world, Kay deploys his signature 'quarter turn to the fantastic' to present readers with a vividly memorable set of characters in a story of vengeance, power, and love, built around profoundly contemporary themes of exile and memory.

Comments

  1. I love this roundup! I'm also looking forward to Temple of No God😁

    ReplyDelete
  2. These are actually all new to me - great picks!! Hope you enjoy them when you get to them :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a lovely selection! I'm particularly interested in Play of Shadows, while Himself will be thrilled at the prospect of a new Guy Gavriel Kay... Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oooh! The cover to a Dream of a Woman looks really interesting! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  5. All of these sound really good. I would really like to try H.M. Long's books. I hope you enjoy all of these when you read them!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Pretty neat, I had no idea Long is Canadian!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment