I Can't Wait for... Goldilocks by Laura Lam


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about and have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released, but not necessarily. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, which was originally hosted at Breaking the Spine.





My pick for this week is a story that's been called The Handmaid's Tale meets The Martian, where the first all-female crew escapes oppression on Earth in search of a new home.









Title: Goldilocks





Author: Laura Lam





Publisher: Orbit





Publication Date: May 5, 2020





Genres: Science Fiction





Shelves: Female-fronted, Female-authored





A gripping science fiction thriller where five women task themselves with ensuring the survival of the human race; perfect for readers of The MartianThe Power, and Station Eleven.





Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation.





It's humanity's last hope for survival, and Naomi, Valerie's surrogate daughter and the ship's botanist, has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity like this - to step out of Valerie's shadow and really make a difference.





But when things start going wrong on the ship, Naomi begins to suspect that someone on board is concealing a terrible secret - and realizes time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they feared . . .





Goldilocks is The Handmaid's Tale meets The Martian - a bold and thought-provoking new high-concept thriller.


Comments

  1. Yes!! Super excited for this as well. I haven't read Laura Lam's more recent books, so I'm eager to see what she does with an SF thriller.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Goldilocks is one I’m eagerly awaiting too, and beyond that Seven Devils which Laura Lam wrote with Elizabeth May - ‘Book #1 of a Feminist Space Opera Duology’.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really like the sounds of this! Great pick.

    My CWW

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds really intriguing! I hope you really enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment