I Can't Wait for... The Throne of the Five Winds by S. C. Emmett


Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about and have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released, but not necessarily. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, which was originally hosted at Breaking the Spine.





My pick for this week is an East Asia-inspired epic fantasy featuring a princess and her lady-in-waiting for fans of George R. R. Martin, Ken Liu, Kate Elliott, and K. Arsenault Rivera. Damn.









Title: The Throne of the Five Winds





Author: S. C. Emmett





Publisher: Orbit





Publication Date:  October 15, 2019





Genres: Epic Fantasy





Shelves: Female-fronted





Two queens, two concubines, six princes. Innumerable secret agendas. A single hidden blade.





The imperial palace -- full of ambitious royals, sly gossip, and unforeseen perils -- is perhaps the most dangerous place in the Empire of Zhaon. Komor Yala, lady-in-waiting to the princess of the vanquished kingdom of Khir, has only her wits and her hidden blade to protect herself and her charge, who was sacrificed in marriage to the enemy as a hostage for her conquered people's good behavior, to secure a tenuous peace.





But the Emperor is aging, and the Khir princess and her lady-in-waiting soon find themselves pawns in the six princes' deadly schemes for the throne -- and a single spark could ignite fresh rebellion in Khir.





Then, the Emperor falls ill -- and a far bloodier game begins…





The Throne of the Five Winds is the first installment of the Hostage of Empire series, an intricate and ruthless East Asia-inspired epic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Ken Liu, Kate Elliott, and K. Arsenault Rivera.


Comments

Post a Comment