Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan
Expected publication: June 28th 2016

What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan's stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy's finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.


When it comes to indie fantasy, I'm not sure there's a bigger name than Michael J. Sullivan. His Riyria series has since been picked up by Orbit, but that hasn't slowed him a bit, or changed how he approaches his work. Looking forward to starting in on a new saga.

4 comments:

  1. I got to snag a copy of the eARC last week, very excited to check it out! I'm a big fan of Michael J. Sullivan, for me anything he writes is worth checking out.

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh nice! That's totally new to me! Sounds rather intriguing!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've seen this before, and loved it, but I have to confess, I don't know this author. I think that means I have to go look him up :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I definitely want this book in my life.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete