Saturday, April 9, 2016

From the Shelf to the Page: This Week in the Ruins

A quiet week in the Ruins, at least from a posting perspective . . .


Waiting On Wednesday with Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan


αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

Stacking The Shelves and Mailbox Monday are a pair of weekly memes that are about sharing the books that came your way over the past week, and which you've added to your shelves - whether they be physical or virtual, borrowed or bought, or for pleasure or review.

For Review:

The Shadowed Path: A Jonmarc Vanhanian Collection by Gail Z. Martin
Expected publication: June 14th 2016 by Solaris

These are the untold tales of Jonmarc Vahanian, hero of Gail Z. Martin’s best-selling Chronicles of the Necromancer series.

Jonmarc Vahanian was just a blacksmith’s son in a small fishing village before raiders killed his family. Wounded and left for dead in the attack, Jonmarc tries to rebuild his life. But when a dangerous bargain with a shadowy stranger goes wrong, Jonmarc finds himself on the run, with nothing ahead but vengeance, and nothing behind him but blood.

Soldier. Fight slave. Smuggler. Warrior. Brigand lord.  If you’ve met Jonmarc Vahanian in the Chronicles of the Necromancer and Fallen Kings Cycle books, you don’t really know him until you walk in his footsteps. This is the first segment of his journey.


Age of Myth (The Legends of the First Empire #1) by Michael J. Sullivan
Expected publication: June 28th 2016 by Del Rey

What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan's stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy's finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.


Run to Ground by Jasper Bark
Expected publication: May 2016 by Crystal Lake Publishing

Jim Mcleod is on the run. He’s running from his responsibilities as a father, hiding out from his pregnant girlfriend and working as a groundskeeper in a rural graveyard. He’s running from a lifetime of guilt and bad decisions, but principally he’s running from the murderous entities that have possessed the very ground at his feet.

Jim has no idea what these entities are, but they’ve done unspeakable things to everyone in the graveyard and now they’re hunting him down. There is nowhere Jim can hide, nowhere he can walk and nowhere he can run that isn’t under the lethal power of the things in the ground. If he stands any chance of survival he must uncover the link between his murderous tormentors, three mysterious graves and an ancient heresy that stretches back to the beginning of time.

So Run To Ground is a tale of extreme folk horror. It opens the reader’s eyes to a terrifying new breed of gods and monsters, but be warned, within these pages you’ll find blasphemy, brutality and unbelievable depravity the likes of which you’ve never read before.


αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is another weekly meme, this time focused on what books are spending the most time in your hands and in your head, as opposed to what's been added to your shelf.

As it happens, I am beta-reading right now for the 3rd book of an epic fantasy saga that you'll be seeing in September, so a little light on other reading again this week . . .


The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu by Joshua Hammer
Expected publication: April 19th 2016 by Simon & Schuster 

To save precious centuries-old Arabic texts from Al Qaeda, a band of librarians in Timbuktu pulls off a brazen heist worthy of Ocean’s Eleven.

In the 1980s, a young adventurer and collector for a government library, Abdel Kader Haidara, journeyed across the Sahara Desert and along the Niger River, tracking down and salvaging tens of thousands of ancient Islamic and secular manuscripts that had fallen into obscurity. The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu tells the incredible story of how Haidara, a mild-mannered archivist and historian from the legendary city of Timbuktu, later became one of the world’s greatest and most brazen smugglers.

In 2012, thousands of Al Qaeda militants from northwest Africa seized control of most of Mali, including Timbuktu. They imposed Sharia law, chopped off the hands of accused thieves, stoned to death unmarried couples, and threatened to destroy the great manuscripts. As the militants tightened their control over Timbuktu, Haidara organized a dangerous operation to sneak all 350,000 volumes out of the city to the safety of southern Mali.

Over the past twenty years, journalist Joshua Hammer visited Timbuktu numerous times and is uniquely qualified to tell the story of Haidara’s heroic and ultimately successful effort to outwit Al Qaeda and preserve Mali’s—and the world’s—literary patrimony. Hammer explores the city’s manuscript heritage and offers never-before-reported details about the militants’ march into northwest Africa. But above all, The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu is an inspiring account of the victory of art and literature over extremism.


What's topping your shelves this week?

8 comments:

  1. I've had a quiet week myself so I hope to be more productive this week! Have a good week!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I really need to read Michael J. Sullivan's stuff -- I think I read one book by him, but he seems to have been pretty prolific!

    ReplyDelete
  3. the first two sound great as we do love us epic!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I was eyeing The Shadowed Path, but I passed it by because I thought it was a later book in a series I hadn't started. But "first segment" of his journey from the description makes me realize otherwise! I'm a big fan of Martin so I'll probably have to check it out now, thanks! I also cannot wait to dive into Age of Myth.

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I believe it's a prequel to her Chronicles of the Necromancer saga (my first exposure to her work), so it should be a safe read.

      Delete
  5. The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu looks so good. I hope you enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love books about books - I have a special affinity for them - so will definitely check out bad ass of librarians of timbuktu - sounds very exotic!

    ReplyDelete