Saturday, February 20, 2016

From the Shelf to the Page: This Week in the Ruins

In case you missed any of it, here's what happened in the Ruins this week . . .


Fiction Review of The Dig by John Preston

Waiting On Wednesday with Dancer's Lament by Ian C. Esslemont

#SPFBO Review of Priest by Matthew Colville

#SPFBO Review of The Thief Who Pulled on Trouble's Braids by Michael McClung

Horror Review of The Passenger by F.R. Tallis


αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

Stacking The Shelves and Mailbox Monday are a pair of weekly memes that are about sharing the books that came your way over the past week, and which you've added to your shelves - whether they be physical or virtual, borrowed or bought, or for pleasure or review.

For Review:

Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
Expected publication: April 26th 2016 by Tom Doherty Associates 

The English language debut of the bestselling Dutch novel, Hex, from Thomas Olde Heuvelt--a Hugo and World Fantasy award nominated talent to watch

Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay 'til death. Whoever settles, never leaves.

Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Muzzled, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children's bed for nights on end. Everybody knows that her eyes may never be opened or the consequences will be too terrible to bear.

The elders of Black Spring have virtually quarantined the town by using high-tech surveillance to prevent their curse from spreading. Frustrated with being kept in lockdown, the town's teenagers decide to break their strict regulations and go viral with the haunting. But, in so doing, they send the town spiraling into dark, medieval practices of the distant past.

This chilling novel heralds the arrival of an exciting new voice in mainstream horror and dark fantasy.


Drop Dead Gorgeous by Donald Allen Kirch
Published February 5th 2016 by Double Dragon Publishing

"Would you like to hear a story?"

The man couldn't help himself. His captor was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen. Her powerful eyes held his attention and made him forget that she had him confined in a basement; his hands and feet bound with duct tape. His heart raced as he meekly nodded his head 'yes' to the question.

After getting past the terror and discomfort, he reasoned that there was nothing to worry about. He would be missed. He had loved ones who would call the police. All he had to do was wait. Letting this woman tell him a story was as good a stall as any.

The mysterious woman weaved a tale of betrayed love and unwanted, unnatural experiments placed upon her. Of a loving wife, working on a top secret government program. Of a husband searching for love in all the wrong places. The prisoner couldn't believe what he was being told. A descent into insanity, fueled by a jealous rage, ended with using the tools of science for torture and revenge.

With every blink of her lovely eyes, licking of her full lips, and heaving of her perfect breasts, the captor entertained a story most bizarre. Of a woman bent on teaching her cheating husband a lesson.

The prisoner wondered...."Am I


The Revelation Code: A Novel by Andy McDermott
Expected publication: April 26th 2016 by Dell

For fans of James Rollins and Matthew Reilly comes the next exciting, globe-trotting adventure in Andy McDermott’s explosive series featuring American archaeologist Nina Wilde and ex-SAS bodyguard Eddie Chase.

The book of mankind’s creation holds the key to its ultimate destruction.

In the heart of Iraq, on the eve of Operation Iraqi Freedom, a CIA special forces unit meets with Arab rebels near long-hidden ancient ruins, a place from which the Americans are direly warned to stay away. But team member Ezekiel Cross doesn’t listen and makes an astounding discovery—one worth killing for.

Now Cross is a ruthless cult leader on an ominous mission. Convinced that he’s unlocked the secrets of the Bible’s Book of Revelation, he’s determined to gather four stone angels that will trigger God’s promised End of Days. And he’s not alone. A former U.S. president, with a vision of all-out religious warfare, plays a role in the dark plot. But while Cross may have the clues to tracking down the remaining angels, he hasn’t been able to match them to real-world locations. For that he has coerced famed archaeologist Nina Wilde into assisting him, using her husband, ex–special forces soldier Eddie Chase, as collateral.

With Eddie held hostage, Nina is forced to recover relics of untold power from Rome to Israel. But she must find a way to halt Cross’s mad quest. Because the last piece of the puzzle is at hand—and with it comes the most terrifying revelation of all.


Invaders: 22 Tales from the Outer Limits of Literature edited by Jacob Weisman
Expected publication: July 12th 2016 by Tachyon Publications

The invasion of the future has begun.

Literary legends including Steven Millhauser, Junot Diáz, Amiri Baraka, and Katharine Dunn have attacked the borders of the every day. Like time traveling mad-scientists, they have concocted outrageous creations from the future. They have seized upon tales of technology gone wrong and mandated that pulp fiction must finally grow up.

In these wildly-speculative stories you will discover the company that controls the world from an alley in Greenwich Village. You’ll find nanotechnology that returns memories to the residents of a nursing home. You’ll rally an avian-like alien to become a mascot for a Major League Baseball team.

The Invaders are here. But did science fiction colonize them first?

αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is another weekly meme, this time focused on what books are spending the most time in your hands and in your head, as opposed to what's been added to your shelf.

War God Rising by Tim Marquitz

Monty Python meets Gladiator!

Sand is destined for greatness. Or so a pair of two-bit criminals would have him believe.

After rescuing him from certain doom, Bess and Kaede embark on a scheme to game the War God Tournament. It’d be easier if Sand wasn’t an alcohol-soaked twit with a disturbing interest in mutton.

Pitted against monsters, magic swords, and murderers galore, they soon realize winning the tourney is the least of their worries.


The Last Mortal Bond by Brian Staveley

The trilogy that began with The Emperor's Blades and continued in The Providence of Fire reaches its epic conclusion, as war engulfs the Annurian Empire in Brian Staveley's The Last Mortal Bond

The ancient csestriim are back to finish their purge of humanity; armies march against the capital; leaches, solitary beings who draw power from the natural world to fuel their extraordinary abilities, maneuver on all sides to affect the outcome of the war; and capricious gods walk the earth in human guise with agendas of their own.

But the three imperial siblings at the heart of it all--Valyn, Adare, and Kaden--come to understand that even if they survive the holocaust unleashed on their world, there may be no reconciling their conflicting visions of the future.

What's topping your shelves this week?

6 comments:

  1. I'm curious about Hex, but... I'm a total wuss! It sounds creepy! Haha. Looks like a good haul, though -- hope you enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I look forward to hearing what you think about Hexed. I wonder if it'll translate well?

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hex and Invaders look really good, I'll have to check them out!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really enjoyed Hex. I read the Dutch version, and loved the concept of throwing in medieval witches with high-tech technology, and the angle of how she basically haunted a whole town. I would definitely recommend this book!

    Majanka @ I Heart Reading

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome - good to know! I've had good luck with translations so far, so here's hoping this one works too.

      Delete
  5. Hex sounds really good.

    Theresa (The Truth About Books)
    see my answer here

    ReplyDelete