Saturday, January 2, 2016

From the Shelf to the Page: This Week in the Ruins

In case you missed any of it, here's what happened in the Ruins this week . . .


WTF Friday review of Blood Moon Rising edited S.K. Gregory

Fantasy Review of Dragon Princess by S. Andrew Swann

Restructuring the Ruins for a New Year

SF Signal Mind Meld: Our Favorite “New to Us” Authors We Read in 2015

Steampunk Review of Gideon Smith and the Mask of the Ripper by David Barnett


αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

Stacking The Shelves and Mailbox Monday are a pair of weekly memes that are about sharing the books that came your way over the past week, and which you've added to your shelves - whether they be physical or virtual, borrowed or bought, or for pleasure or review.

For Review:

Checkmate Ever After by Lex Chase
Together, Rook and Garth form Checkmate, a daring super duo that keeps Axis City safe from a rogue’s gallery of nefarious villains, dastardly masterminds, and a coalition of calamity. But by day, they’re a couple of broke losers who can barely afford a burger and navigating a weird thing called a relationship.

Red Hourglass by Scarlet Risque
The first in the Hourglass series, Red Hourglass is a dark coming-of-age thriller romance that explores themes of identity, dominance, and submission.  A fast paced read with strong female protagonists. The novel is set in today's globalized world, and infused with undercover agents, poker, tango, and a mix of Eastern and Western philosophy.

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power
A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.


Purchased:

The Waking Engine by David Edison
Late of Manhattan, Cooper finds himself in a City that is not what it once was. The gateway to True Death is failing, so that the City is becoming overrun by the Dying, who clot its byzantine streets and alleys . . . and a spreading madness threatens to engulf the entire metaverse.

The Hammer and the Blade by Paul S. Kemp
Robbing tombs for fun and profit might not be a stable career, but Egil and Nix aren’t in it for the long-term prospects. Egil is the hammer-wielding warrior-priest of a discredited god. Nix is a roguish thief with just enough knowledge of magic to conjure up trouble. 

The Iron Ship by K.M. McInley
The order of the world is in turmoil. An age of industry is beginning, an age of machines fuelled by magic. Sprawling cities rise, strange devices stalk the land. New money brings new power. The balance between the Hundred Kingdoms is upset. For the first time in generations the threat of war looms.


αωαωαωαωαωαωαω

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is another weekly meme, this time focused on what books are spending the most time in your hands and in your head, as opposed to what's been added to your shelf.

Reawakening by Amy Rae Durreson
For a thousand years, since their defeat of the Shadow at Eyr, the dragons have slept under the mountains. Now their king, Tarnamell, has woken. Driven mad by loneliness, he hurls himself south until he finds and tries to claim the Alagard Desert. Unfortunately, the desert already has a guardian spirit, and he doesn't want to share. Amused by the cocky little desert spirit, Tarn retreats, planning to return in human form. 

Last Song Before Night by Ilana C. Myer
A high fantasy following a young woman's defiance of her culture as she undertakes a dangerous quest to restore her world's lost magic. The Red Death's return can mean only one thing: someone is spilling innocent blood in order to master dark magic. Now poets who thought only to gain fame for their songs face a challenge much greater: reclaim their legacy and reopen the way to the Otherworld.



What's topping your shelves this week?

12 comments:

  1. Ooh nice! Those are totally new to me reads! Hope you enjoy them all!

    My STS will be up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by then if you can!

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm really looking forward to Dragon Round!

    ReplyDelete
  3. If I read the fantasy genre, this would defo be the place I'd come to for recommendations! You always have an interesting range of books. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ironship looks interesting, happy reading!! My STS
    http://thebestbasicblogger.blogspot.com/2016/01/stacking-shelves-4.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've not heard of any of these but I hope you enjoy them. Happy reading! :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yay for the Dragon Round! And looking forward to hearing about your initial thoughts on Last Song Before Night. Read some mixed reviews about that one.

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am going to have to read Dragon Bound. I know this is totally a girl comment but " Baby Dragon!" I may have to check out Red Hourglass too though.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm sold on the dragon book already, because DRAGON!

    I need to get round to reading Last Song Before Night. Guy Gavriel Kay loved it, so I figure I'm probably going to like it...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Dragon stories can sure be fun. These are all new to me. Happy New Year and Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Happy New Year and enjoy your new books

    ReplyDelete
  11. I hope your enjoying your new books. Happy New Year to you. You can see mine here: http://theresaraymer.blogspot.com/

    New Follower.

    ReplyDelete