Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: When the Heavens Fall by Marc Turner

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

When the Heavens Fall by Marc Turner 
Hardcover, 544 pages
Expected publication: May 19th 2015 by Tor Books

The first of an epic swords & sorcery fantasy series for fans of Patrick Rothfuss, When the Heavens Fall features gritty characters, deadly magic, and meddlesome gods.

If you pick a fight with Shroud, the Lord of the Dead, you had better make sure you end up on the winning side, else death will mark only the beginning of your suffering.

A book that gives its wielder power over the dead has been stolen from a fellowship of mages that has kept the powerful relic dormant for centuries. The thief, a crafty, power-hungry necromancer, intends to use the Book of Lost Souls to resurrect an ancient race and challenge Shroud for dominion of the underworld. Shroud counters by sending his most formidable servants to seize the artifact at all cost.

However, the god is not the only one interested in the Book, and a host of other forces converge, drawn by the powerful magic that has been unleashed. Among them is a reluctant Guardian who is commissioned by the Emperor to find the stolen Book, a troubled prince who battles enemies both personal and political, and a young girl of great power, whose past uniquely prepares her for an encounter with Shroud. The greatest threat to each of their quests lies not in the horror of an undead army but in the risk of betrayal from those closest to them. Each of their decisions comes at a personal cost and will not only affect them, but also determine the fate of their entire empire.


This is a title that landed on my doorstep as a surprise ARC a little while back, and it's probably the most anticipated paperback sitting on my shelf at the moment. Not only is Marc a fellow Canadian (albeit transplanted across the Atlantic), he counts Steven Erikson and Joe Abercrombie among his influences. This just sounds cool, and from what I've read with a quick scan of the opening chapters, it has a style to match.

12 comments:

  1. Influenced by Abercrombie? That sold me!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sounds intriguing! Very exciting! Great pick!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agreed with Nathan, anything with a living god is going on my TBR! Great choice:-D

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the cover of this novel and the story sounds good too.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh yes, this one was a complete surprise when it arrived for me too but I'm so looking forward to it. Just waiting for the release date to get closer before I tackle it. I had no idea he's a Canadian author, awesome!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hmm...not sure about this one. But I hope you enjoy it!

    My WoW: http://onceuntold.blogspot.com/2015/03/waiting-on-wednesday-4-unleashing-call.html

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've not heard of this one but it sounds interesting! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  8. First off this has a really cool cover! Second it sounds really good too! :)

    ReplyDelete