Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: The Providence of Fire by Brian Staveley

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

The Providence of Fire by Brian Staveley
Expected publication: January 2015 by TOR

Brian Staveley's Providence of Fire, the second novel in the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, a gripping new epic fantasy series in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and George R. R. Martin.
The conspiracy to destroy the ruling family of the Annurian Empire is far from over.

Having learned the identity of her father's assassin, Adare flees the Dawn Palace is search of allies to challenge the coup against her family. Few trust her, but when she is believed to be touched by Intarra, patron goddess of the empire, the people rally to help her retake the capital city. As armies prepare to clash, the threat of invasion from barbarian hordes compels the rival forces to unite against their common enemy.

Unknown to Adare, her brother Valyn, renegade member of the empire's most elite fighting force, has allied with the invading nomads. The terrible choices each of them has made may make war between them inevitable.

Between Valyn and Adare is their brother Kaden, rightful heir to the Unhewn Throne, who has infiltrated the Annurian capital with the help of two strange companions. The knowledge they possess of the secret history that shapes these events could save Annur or destroy it.


The Emperor's Blades is a book I enjoyed immensely, so much so that I was willing to call it the debut of the year way back in January. The sequel may be a year away, but he currently has a giveaway going on Goodreads for a signed ARC of the sequel, so it's officially on the way!

6 comments:

  1. If you'd call the first one the debut of the year, then it must be damned good!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh yessss, this one is scheduled to be one of my future WoWs as well. It's good that it sounds like Adare will have a much bigger role to play in this one.

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't heard of this series, but it sounds interesting. I may have to check it out. Great pick!

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh nice! This is a new to me series as well! Sounds exciting!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yes! I am also waiting on this one! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm also waiting on this one, and the cover looks great!

    ReplyDelete